Week 16 : How to Catch-up

As most of you know, I usually create my own patterns and overlays in my layouts, which can be incredibly time consuming [albeit really fun too!].  Now that I am officially behind by almost a month, I decided to invest in one of my favorite company’s digital design kits:  Paislee Press’s “Sunny Days Ahead” kit.  It’s absolute perfection for those transitional Spring into Summer months. The beauty of buying one of these kits is that it’s an all in one:  fun “paper” in standard 12″x12″ size in designs that fit my aesthetic, with interesting overlays and other fun, decorative elements.  They are a great way, in a pinch, to save time. Since I am running behind and desperately want to catch up with my digital PL, I wanted to create a very simple layout for Week 16 and beyond.  I utilized the Kraft paper sun ray back-drop from the “Sunny Day’s Ahead” collection and used it as the focus and interest of this layout, simply mirroring it on the pages.  I created a border in orange in Illustrator to tie it all together.  The rest of the lay-out is very simple, just words and photos. April Week 4 all-01 I like it, it’s simple, it’s happy, it’s still me!  Even if someone else designs the elements, everyone is going to use the product in a different, personal way.  You [and I] will always find a way to make it our own, because the story will always be our own! Here’s a detail of my page 1 and page 2 up close: April Week 4-01 April Week 4-02 More Paislee Press “Sunny Days Ahead” in my Digital PL to come, as I journey towards the land of “caught up”!  And hopefully just more sunny days ahead in general! credits// Sarah Kolbe : Author|Photographer|Graphic Designer

Leave a Reply

