Hello Summer | Documenting Pool Fun

Hello June! Hello Summer 2014!

I know it’s not officially summer yet…but around here the kids are out of school, the weather is warm and most importantly the pool is open!!  My family spends a lot of time at the pool in the summer. Some of my favorite summer time photos come from lazy days of splashing around soaking in some sunshine.  Iowa winter’s are brutal – this one was especially cold! We cherish the few short months we can enjoy the blue water of the pool and the warm summer rays.

In the past, I had document pool photos by very carefully handling my DSLR (Canon 60D) or my iPhone around and even in (Eeek!) the pool.  Luckily I never had any accidents where my camera or iPhone went into the water. But it could have happened.

For my birthday this year, my sweet husband gave me a Lifeproof Case for my iPhone.  Have you seen these cases?? They are waterproof! I was so excited for the first day of the pool to get my iPhone camera and use it by and even IN the water without worrying about drowning my equipment!

Here are photos I took:

Goal accomplished #pool #drinkHello SummerLet's get this summer started!#myethan#owenchristopher off the board!We are the only ones at the pool because it's cloudy and looks like rain #missz #theydontcare

 

And while I didn’t take any underwater photos  (which Lifeproof says you can*) I did accidentally drop my phone into the water with the Lifepoof case on and my iPhone was just fine!  And while I didn’t attempt any underwater photos (this time), there was plenty of splashing around that my iPhone was significantly wet.  I can’t wait to see all the pool/water photos (and videos!)  that I will capture this summer!

*if you purchase an Lifeproof case, make sure you follow the directions that come with the case exactly to make sure your iPhone is truly protected from water.

Let the water fun begin!

Here is a look at my week 21 layouts including the pool photos above.

Project Life 2014 | Week 21Project Life 2014 | Week 21Project Life 2014 | Week 21
In case you wanted to know:

credits// Michelle Bostinelos, photographer/author 

Leave a Reply

